Staircase to the Moon

Staircase to the Moon is a spectacular natural phenomenon which occurs every year between March and November along the Kimberley and Pilbara coastlines. Spectators are treated to a mesmerising optical illusion which takes place when the full moon rises over the exposed mudflats at low tide, creating the appearance of a stairway leading up to the moon.  Enjoy viewing this natural phenomenon from either The Mangrove Hotel or Town Beach whilst you browse the night markets.

staircase to the moon kimberley coast 2019 dates

Staircase to the Moon 2019 Dates and Times


April 2019
Saturday 20 April 18.32 
Sunday 21 April 19.18 
Monday 22 April  20.06 
May 2019
Sunday 19 May 17.55 
Monday 20 May 18.44
Tuesday 21 May 19.35

June 2019
Tuesday 18 June 18.17 
Wednesday 19 June 19.09
Thursday 20 June 20.01
July 2019
Wednesday 17 July 17.54
Thursday 18 July 18.46
Friday 19 July 19.36

August 2019
Friday 16 August18.21
Saturday 17 August 19.10
Sunday 18 August 19.58
September 2019
Sunday 15 September 18.42 
Monday 16 September19.30
Tuesday 17 September 20.18
October 2019
Monday 14 October                             18.15

Tuesday 15 October                            19.05






We still have a few cruise bookings available  during this period, so why not make the most of being able to witness this stunning gift from Mother Nature by coordinating the timing of your Kimberley Moon experience with a Kimberley Pearl Cruise package.

Ord Valley Muster 2019 

There is also an exciting program of 30 events being held in the East Kimberley region over 10 days between Friday 17th - Sunday 26th May 2019, known as the Argyle Diamonds Ord Valley Muster 2019.

The highlight event of the Ord Valley Muster is the Aviair Helispirit Kimberley Moon Experience, which is being held on Saturday 25th May along the banks of the Ord River. Headline acts include Amy Shark, Pete Murray & Skinnyfish Sound SystemYou can read more about this event here.

With such a diverse range of activities, entertainment and culinary experiences on offer, including comedy, yoga boats and dining under the stars, there is sure to be something to satisfy everybody’s taste. You can read more about the Argyle Diamonds Ord Valley Muster and see their full upcoming program of events here.

Kimberley Moon Experience

If you’re ready for your Kimberley Moon Experience and would like to tick a few more items off your bucket list, then don’t miss out on being there for these unforgettable seasonal events!

Our cruise packages include your scenic flight transfers from Broome to Cygnet Bay, as well as all guided excursions from the boat.

So, if you have been waiting to experience this natural phenomenon for yourself, then why not time your cruise accordingly so you can be there during prime season and make the most of the airfares you are booking to visit Broome and the Kimberley?

We still have a few cruise booking dates available between July to October 2019 which you can see here.