Staircase to the Moon

Staircase to the Moon is a spectacular natural phenomenon which occurs every year between March and November along the Kimberley and Pilbara coastlines. Spectators are treated to a mesmerising optical illusion which takes place when the full moon rises over the exposed mudflats at low tide, creating the appearance of a stairway leading up to the moon. 

Staircase to the Moon 2018 Dates and Times


April 2018
Sunday 1 April 18.40
Monday 2 April 19.21
Tuesday 3 April 20.04
May 2018
Tuesday 1 May 18.40
Wednesday 2 May 19.24
Wednesday 30 May 18.05
Thursday 31 May 18.52
June 2018
Friday 1 June 19.40
Wednesday 29 June 18.24
Saturday 30 June 19.13
July 2018
Sunday 1 July 20.03
Saturday 28 July 18.00
Sunday 29 July  18.49
Monday 30 July 19.39
August 2018
Monday 27 August18.25
Tuesday 28 August 19.15
Wednesday 29 August 20.05
September 2018
Tuesday 25 September 19.40
Wednesday 26 September18.52
Thursday 27 September 19.45
October 2018
Thursday 25 October 18.31
Friday 26 october 19.28

We still have a few cruise bookings available during this period, so why not make the most of being able to witness this stunning gift from Mother Nature by coordinating the timing of your Kimberley Moon experience with a Kimberley Pearl Cruise package.

Ord Valley Muster 2018

There is also an exciting program of 30 events being held in the East Kimberley region over 10 days between Friday 11th - Sunday 20th May 2018, known as the Argyle Diamonds Ord Valley Muster 2018.

The highlight event of the Ord Valley Muster is the Aviair Helispirit Kimberley Moon Experience, which is being held on Saturday 19th May along the banks of the Ord River. Headline acts include The Cat Empire and Lee Kernaghan. You can read more about this event here.

With such a diverse range of activities, entertainment and culinary experiences on offer, including comedy, yoga boats and dining under the stars, there is sure to be something to satisfy everybody’s taste. You can read more about the Argyle Diamonds Ord Valley Muster and see their full upcoming program of events here.

Kimberley Moon Experience

If you’re ready for your Kimberley Moon Experience and would like to tick a few more items off your bucket list, then don’t miss out on being there for these unforgettable seasonal events!

Our cruise packages include your scenic flight transfers from Broome to Cygnet Bay and back, as well as all guided excursions from the boat.

So, if you have been waiting to experience this natural phenomenon for yourself, then why not time your cruise accordingly so you can be there during prime season and make the most of the airfares you are booking to visit Broome and the Kimberley?

We still have a few cruise booking dates available between May to October 2018 which you can see here.