Staircase to the Moon

Staircase to the Moon is a spectacular natural phenomenon which occurs every year between March and November along the Kimberley and Pilbara coastlines. Spectators are treated to a mesmerising optical illusion which takes place when the full moon rises over the exposed mudflats at low tide, creating the appearance of a stairway leading up to the moon.  Enjoy viewing this natural phenomenon from either The Mangrove Hotel or Town Beach whilst you browse the night markets.

staircase to the moon kimberley coast 2019 dates

Staircase to the Moon 2020 Dates and Times


March 2020
Tuesday 10 March 18.53
Wednesday 11 March 19.38
Thursday 12 April  20.23
April 2020
Wednesday 8 April 18.11 
Thursday 9 April 18.57
Friday 10 April 19.46
May 2019
Friday 8 May 18.21 
Saturday 9 May 19.14
Sunday 10 May 20.10
June 2020
Saturday 6 June 18.11 
Sunday 7 June 18.51
Monday 8 June 19.49
July 2020
Monday 6 July 18.33
Tuesday 7 July 19.30
Wednesday 8 July 20.24
August 2020
Tuesday 4 August18.14
Wednesday 5 August 19.07
Thursday 6 August 19.58
September 2020
Sunday 15 September 18.42 
Monday 16 September19.30
Tuesday 17 September 20.18
October 2020
Friday 2 October 18.12 
Saturday 3 October18.59
Saturday 3 October19.47
November 2020
Sunday 1 November 18.33 
Monday 2 November19.23
Tuesday 3 November20.15

We still have a few cruise bookings available  during this period, so why not make the most of being able to witness this stunning gift from Mother Nature by coordinating the timing of your Kimberley Moon experience with a Kimberley Pearl Cruise package.

Kimberley Moon Experience

If you’re ready for your Kimberley Moon Experience and would like to tick a few more items off your bucket list, then don’t miss out on being there for these unforgettable seasonal events!

Our cruise packages include your scenic flight transfers from Broome to Cygnet Bay, as well as all guided excursions from the boat.

So, if you have been waiting to experience this natural phenomenon for yourself, then why not time your cruise accordingly so you can be there during prime season and make the most of the airfares you are booking to visit Broome and the Kimberley?

We still have a few cruise booking dates available between July to October 2019 which you can see here.